Edible Blooms

In looking over my photos from the last six months I found an emerging theme of edible blooms and just had to share.

This was taken at the Capay Farms booth at the San Francisco ferry building farmer’s market in March. It’s radicchio, but looks like giant sun-drenched roses to me.

While making my bok choy salad with Asian dressing (recipe here), I trimmed the ends from the bok choy and set them aside. When I went to throw them away, I had a hard time tossing them. They looked just like roses!

Last fall we ripped out the ugliest Agapanthus you’ve ever seen from our front bed. In their place we planted a lemon, lime, and orange tree. This is our first baby lemon! Knobby little thing, isn’t it?

Our weather is too arid for artichokes, but I  couldn’t help buying one when I saw them at the co-op three years ago. We’ve gotten 4-6 artichokes the last two seasons. Not too shabby for a $2.50 start.

I know you aren’t supposed to let your herbs bloom, but for sage, it’s worth it.

My mother-in-law’s pomegranate tree provides endless entertainment. Pomegranate seed fights, pomegranate liquor, and a few weekends ago, beautiful blooms. I wish I had room for one in my yard!

Fresh curry is my new favorite herb. When I found a curry start at Whole Foods last year, I almost ate the plant before I got it home. It is incredibly fragrant, and makes a lovely curry infused oil; great for grilled veggies, a crusty dipping bread, or even yummy herbed scrambled eggs.

Curry infused olive oil:

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil (the best you have)
4 -6″ curry sprigs (strip the leaves and discard the hard stems)
1/4 teaspoon salt

Finely chop curry leaves and put in a small bowl. (Curry sprigs look like a pale version of rosemary, but are surprisingly sticky when you chop the leaves. A nice sharp chef knife makes quick work of it.) Sprinkle with salt and mash a bit with a spoon to further release the fragrant oils. Stir in olive oil. Marinate for at least 20 minutes, up to 24 hours. Strain if you keep it longer. (Safety note-if you want to add garlic, make sure you cook or eat it right away. Raw garlic left covered in olive oil for more than a few hours can cause food poisoning. Bummer, huh.)

18 Comments

Filed under New Recipes, Obsessed with Produce

18 responses to “Edible Blooms

  1. I so wish I had a yard. Are these curry sprigs the same as curry leaves that are used in Indian cooking? Those are SO fragrant, awesome savory scent.

    • I honestly don’t know if they are the same. I always thought curry was a mix of spices, and wasn’t sure what to think when I found the plant! It would probably grow well in a windowsill though, it doesn’t get big and seemed pretty happy no matter what the weather did.

  2. the first photo looks like a painting! beautiful. and looks like you have a pomegranate coming up! (smile)

  3. Those are great. Very creative.

  4. Great flower shots. Love your creativity!

  5. thirdhandart

    Amazing, edible blooms!

  6. great photos and ideas. Thank you for the recipe 🙂

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers « Blog Archive « Yori Yuliandra | a photo blog

  8. Interesting taste …I mean take… on the subject 😉 Radicchio can make for an interesting Risotto!

    • Thanks, that does sound like an intriguing risotto. Any recipe suggestions?

      • Well, I had it at one of our local Italian restaurants, but I’d guess it’s a basic Risotto such as mushroom but with Radicchio used as the ingredient instead. The bitterness of the Radicchio contrasted well with the relative sweetness of the Parmesan cheese in the dish. I used a basic Mushroom Risotto recipe but substituted Red Pepper and Cape Gooseberry – it had quite a lemony flavour.

      • Sounds wonderful! I’ve done a homemade pasta with kale, a little prociutto, and a lemony cream sauce. It is a lovely combination of flavors. I haven’t done much exploring with radicchio yet. Sounds like I need to. Thanks!

  9. i think it’s great you posted them again, since i missed the earlier challenge. wonderful flowers, and the composition for each is beautiful. thank you for sharing. your recipe sounds yummy, too!

Leave a Reply

