Broiled Tomato Pasta & Pizza Sauce

A sun-ripened tomato is summer in a sphere. My garden dream of having so many tomatoes I would need to make huge batches of pasta sauce to freeze just so they wouldn’t go to waste have puttered out.

My three beautiful heirlooms pulled a few tricks,

but when all was said and done, didn’t put on as big of a show as I had hoped. I blame our uncharacteristically mild weather, and my new attempt at growing them in pots. Next year, my tomatoes will be free range.

Still dreaming of fresh pasta sauce, I bought 6 lbs of tomatoes for $3 at the farmer’s market. I’ve experimented a few times now with broiling as an homage to the Mexican method of charring. It has become my new favorite way of making a fresh Italian tomato sauce. It’s a super quick and simple method that brings out the sweetness, but doesn’t fully cook them so the sauce retains a nice freshness.

Broiled Tomato Pasta & Pizza Sauce

6 lbs tomatoes (obviously you can make a smaller batch, but I like to cook big and freeze the rest for a lazy day)
3-4 tablespoons good olive oil
3 cloves garlic
fistful of fresh basil leaves
a little salt and pepper

1)   Preheat broiler.

2)   Wash and dry tomatoes and remove stems. Single layer them in a rimmed cookie sheet or broiler pan without the grate. Drizzle with a little olive oil.

3)   Broil for 10-15 minutes, two rows down from the top rack, till the peels blister and start to blacken.

4)   While the ‘maters cook and cool, mince garlic and basil and put in blender with 3-4 tablespoons olive oil and a little salt & pepper. (Cue the whining-Why do I have to cut stuff up before it goes in the blender? Because dear Henry, then you can blend less and have a thicker sauce.)

5)   Once tomatoes are cool enough to handle, peel and toss into blender (minus peelings).

6)   Blend it up in two batches, then season to taste in a large bowl.

7)   Freeze in plastic storage bags or containers. (I measure them into 1, 2, or 3 cup servings.) 6 lbs makes about 5 cups of sauce, and will last several months in the freezer.

8)   To reheat, cut off the plastic bag. Defrost in a bowl in the microwave for about 4-5 minutes at regular heat, stirring every 1-2 minutes.

There is nothing like a little summer sun to help recharge the spirits, but in the midst of a wet, gray winter, hopefully this will carry you through. Mangia!

4 Comments

Filed under Cuisines (Regional and International), Ingredients, Meal Planning, New Recipes, Obsessed with Produce, Techniques

4 responses to “Broiled Tomato Pasta & Pizza Sauce

  1. If it makes you feel better, I had 13 plants and only managed to can 6 pints of diced tomatoes. My plants got a blight, and I, too, blame the weather. Wet, dry, not-so-hot. Ugh! My whole garden was somewhat disappointing this year (even the zucchini seemed to be in control and not overproduce). But this looks delicious! And I love the second picture–so cute!

  2. Mmmmm that pizza looks delish 🙂

Leave a Reply

