A Pumpkin Latte Detour

Have you ever heard of a sweet potato latte? Apparently it has become popular in Japantown, San Francisco (article link here). I was intrigued because I’m always looking for new ways to incorporate more vegetables in my day. It had never occurred to me to put them in my breakfast beverage!

I set out to make my own at home, and of course my mission took a detour. I had two butternut squash waiting to be roasted so I did those at the same time I roasted the sweet potato. (I use butternut squash puree in place of canned pumpkin, and keep it stocked in my freezer.) I made pumpkin bread with the fresh puree, and then had an idea. If sweet potato works in a latte, why not pumpkin (aka butternut squash)?

It instantly became my new favorite breakfast drink, happily taking the place of my chai latte since I’m not doing caffeine right now. I measured out the puree into little ramekins and put them in my fridge so I have a quick warm drink in the making for the next few days. I’m not sure if canned would taste as good as fresh, but I think it would be worth a try.

According to the article, this drink is traditionally caffeine free, but espresso can be added for kicks.

Pumpkin Latte

1 cup milk
4 Tablespoons pumpkin or butternut squash puree
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons honey or sugar
a tiny pinch (less than 1/8 teaspoon) each of ground cinnamon, ginger, and either allspice, or cardomom

Mix all ingredients in a microwave safe cup. Heat till warm, 1-1 ½ minutes. Froth in a blender or with a handheld frother.

I still intend to try the sweet potato latte, once my butternut fixation eases. I’ll try to keep you posted.

13 Comments

Filed under Ingredients, New Recipes, Obsessed with Produce, Uncategorized

13 responses to “A Pumpkin Latte Detour

  1. Brandon

    That looks like quite the luxurious libation =) http://wp.me/pdJ7S-ve

  2. I never had a pumpkin latte before, that sounds really yummy!

  3. It looks delicious. Such a great idea to combine a recipe with your photo. 🙂

  4. sounds delish!
    thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. jakesprinter

    I love this post 🙂

  6. Mmmm looks so good! I want one please 🙂

  7. not sure about this flavour

  8. I need to try this. Thanks a bunch for the recepee

  9. Hm … I am very tempted to try this recipe 🙂

Leave a comment